It’s a book. And I made it all by myself.

Japanese stab binding-5 holes
Japanese stab binding-5 holes

It’s a new kind of post this week. I don’t have a book review ready and the writing posts are surely getting boring, so here’s something different—bookbinding!

I want to start this by saying I am not a professional bookbinder by any means, and this is not a tutorial. I only just started dabbling in it in April because my friend was having a horrible week so I wanted to surprise her. It was supposed to be something small but then the synapses in my brain fired at lightning speed until I ended up with several sheets of paper that needing binding. A notebook just wouldn’t do. It had to be more personal and clever. And that’s why, dears, I ended up with this.

IMG_20140423_161031
A look at the inside. Bad quality picture. Sorry.

Here it is for your perusal—traditional Japanese stab binding. It’s also the traditional method for China and Korea. It usually has four holes, but I went with five. You punch holes through the papers and then sew around the edges and spine as you can see. As I said, I’m not an expert. I don’t know much except that this started me on a craze of stay-up-all-night-despite-being-busy-the-next-day just so I could bind some more books in different ways.

Bookbinding is kind of like origami for me. My brain slips into the steps, one after another until the rhythm blocks all stress and negative thoughts. In other words, I don’t think about anything else, but how to do the binding. I haven’t bound anything in weeks, but I’m thinking it’s time to start again. NaReWriMo is making my Stress ‘o’ Meter skyrocket!

What do you think of my first ever handbound book? I’m going to take a stab (Get it?) and say you’ve seen better. But I love it anyway.

Leave a Reply

