Pinning My Novel

I have not updated my NaReWriMo stats and that’s because I haven’t written since Monday. I haven’t had the chance. It was Thanksgiving, and family came into town. There was also turkey and its tryptophan to gobble up. I’m not going to make my goal. I’m still short by about 15,000 words, but I’m ok with that. I tried.

Needless to say, I once heard that a Pinterest board could help gather your ideas and such, so I decided to try that with the novel I’m working on. It’s definitely taken a lot of my time because I can’t find that “perfect dress” for my heroine in one of her more heartwrenching scenes. I haven’t pinned many things yet because I’m hung up on that dress. But I do see how this could be a good way to help a writer visualize their book. Many of us don’t have trouble remembering, but it is nice to actually see pieces of our novels instead of constantly using our minds’ eye. I found it highly beneficial because I was able to find other pins that “struck a chord” with me, ideas that I hadn’t considered before. I look forward to what other things I can scrounge up on Pinterest to fuel my imagination. Should you want to see this visual storyboard, click here. Maybe you can give it a try too? Who knows. Hopefully, after I pin more things, I might be able to zip through that muddy middle that makes me want to pull my hair out.

Happy belated Thanksgiving, everyone! May you be ever thankful for the written word that keeps us all very much entertained.

Leave a Reply

