Captain Confidence to the rescue!

Who's Captain Confidence_Captain Confidence is a friend of mine. He’s kind of a super hero to my writing and my life in general. He makes me feel like I can do anything I want and be successful at it. I’ve never told him this, so it might come as a surprise when he reads this. I have other people in my life that encourage me to follow my dreams, but Captain Confidence makes me want to do it even more.

I told him the other day that I wanted to do a bookbinding certificate in Colorado. It would take 4-5 years to complete and cost money, of course. His response was: “Why don’t you? How can you resist Colorado? Now you just have to fund it.” or something along those lines. That’s when it clicked. Why can’t I? It’s not as if the certificate would force me to move to Colorado. It only takes a few weeks a year, at most two weeks at a time. That’s not bad. That’s not bad at all. Captain Confidence is right, I have another draw to Colorado—Gandalf. Gandalf is the same friend who insisted I name the design Eowyn. She, and it is a she, also insists I call her Gandalf. When I asked what she wanted to be called, she said I should already know and then added “Fool of a Took” for good measure I suppose.

Anyway, Gandalf said she’d visit me when I made trips over there. Her fiancé is a pilot and can fly them to Telluride whenever they want (within reason). Should I follow Captain Confidence’s advice and do the certificate? To be perfectly honest, the idea of working with my hands is appealing. I’d love nothing more than to make my living writing and making books. I’ve said that before, haven’t I? While I can keep writing on my own and improving through rewriting, I think bookbinding classes would help me with my binding skills. There are only so many things I can teach myself. Eventually, you need a teacher to give you tips and tricks that only years of experience in the field can provide. The good thing about this certificate is that I can still have a regular job. I can take the classes around work and have time for everything else! Or is that too optimistic? Eh, I prefer to indulge optimism.

So thank you, Captain Confidence, for being the kick in the butt that I need. You don’t know how supportive you actually are. Keep up the good work spreading confidence to the world!

Leave a Reply

