I need you!

The big red button is my novel. LIFT IT OFF ME!

Calling all readers, writers, and anyone who likes to give recommendations. Normally, I don’t do this sort of thing because I usually know what I want to read, but I’m stuck. I have plenty of books I want to read, but I’m stuck in my writing. This is where you come in. One of my YA novels involves a mystery. I don’t know how to write it. It’s been bothering me for months. I’ve left it on the wayside for so long, I’ve forgotten what I’ve written and will have to reread the 15,000-some words.

Since mysteries are a mystery to me (haha…?), I’d like to take to the bookshelves and read some novels from this elusive genre. Reading and dissecting are good ways to learn how something is done. If nothing else, it’ll at least make me feel less like a fool when I try to write it. Maybe I’ll even write something! So if you have any suggestions (adult, YA, MG, whatever), please leave them in the comments or email me. If you don’t, that’s fine. I’ll scour the internet instead! I am extremely determined to finish this book by October because it’s been sitting too long, and my ego is now in the pit of despair with Westley.

(My review of Burney’s Evelina is coming. I promise! I’m attempting to make it a pleasurable reading experience and not simply a dissertation on woman as nobody. Unless you’re into that sort of thing, you’ll thank me later.)

2 thoughts on “I need you!

  1. Kafka on the Shore – Haruki Murakami

    Out – Natsuo Karino (I believe it would be mystery/horror?)

    An Egg on Three Sticks – Jackie Fischer (I think this is the best book I’ve ever read regarding growing up. But this is just me)

    I admit I haven’t read so much as I wish I could. I’ll get around to it eventually. These are titles I find myself visiting over and over.

    1. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! They’re now on my list. I admit to not reading enough variety of books, including genres and time periods (as in when they were published). There’s a big gap between 1925 and 1995 on my bookshelf. But I do appreciate your recommendations! Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

