NaNoWriMo 2015 Day 1

NaNoWriMoIt’s the 1st of November. What does that mean? That means NaNoWriMo! This will be my third year in a row that I’m trying it. In 2013, I took my story idea for Dissonance and wrote around 52,000 words. So exciting! Sure the second draft is nothing like that first one, but I finished. At the time, I didn’t have a blog, nor had I signed up on the NaNoWriMo website. I did it for “fun.” On my own. It was terrible. Here’s what I said to my Facebook friends on 1 December:

After 7 hours of typing over 11,000 words, I can now give you my NaNoWriMo result. 51,046!! For those bad in math, that’s 1,046 MORE than what I needed. If we want to get technical, and I do, I have written a total of 55,623 words of fiction since November 1. Where’s my prize? Oh, shucks, I think I’ll splurge and buy a new notebook since I only have 3 pages left in this one. I’m never doing that again.

Why did I technically write 55,000? Because that year I decided it would be a good idea to write a short story at the same time. It’s a wonder I ever ate a meal and celebrated Thanksgiving and my mom’s birthday. It was a learning experience. I learned that I could, in fact, spit out 50,000 words in a month, by hand no less. I did it again in 2014, only my goal was 30,000 because I decided to revise my 2013 NaNoWriMo novel. If you were following my blog last year, you’ll know I was short 16,000 words. That was also a valuable lesson.

NaNoWriMo Lessons:

Lesson 1: I can write 50,000 words in one month.

Lesson 2: I cannot write 30,000 words on a revision draft.

With those lessons in mind, I’ve pushed the second draft of my MG novel Mina vs. The Time Thieves to the side and chosen a new story idea. I wasn’t sure which of my ideas to use because none seemed really appealing to me, so in order to prep for NaNoWriMo this year, I did one of my K-pop writing prompts last night. I ended up with something I doubt I would have come up with from sheer force of will. Needless to say, I’m excited. I want to write. I want to write right now. One of these days, I’ll finish the second drafts of Dissonance and MVTT. For the next 30 days, though, I’ll focus on my tentatively titled new YA novel Transfer Completed.

If you’d like to see my progress on NaNoWriMo’s website, you can. I signed up this year under Taking the Waters. Otherwise, I’ll be posting my progress here as well. Encouragement is needed to succeed so if you’re partaking in NaNoWriMo this year, good luck! You can do it. Even if the words are awful, at least you’ve written them down. Sometimes they’re not as bad as you think either. I found some really good gems from 2013. Perhaps the majority will never see the light of day, but I can say that my imagination skyrocketed because of it. I was an unstoppable writing machine, and that made the little sleep worth it. It’s nice to know you can do it. To see yourself do it is even better. Take on the challenge. Try for 50,000. But most importantly, write something.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo 2015 Day 1

Leave a Reply

