NaNoWriMo Day 4

NaNoWriMo 4It’s approaching the end of day 4. If you’re participating, your wrists may be aching from the odd angle when typing or fingers cramping from writing by hand (that’s definitely me!) Perhaps you’ve already burned out and only manage a couple of words in an hour before closing the document for the day. I’ve been there. In fact, I’ve been living in a perpetual state of giving up for the past eight months. Smarty Pants sets deadlines for me. He wants a chapter a week. I haven’t been able to give it to him. I haven’t sent him anything for so long I was starting to think I never would. But now, I have something. I have 2,896 words of something. Not good somethings, but that doesn’t matter. They haven’t come without a struggle, though. Here are only a few.

Problem 1: When I wanted to write on Sunday, I had to find a notebook. I went to my notebook section and found four blank ones. This should be an easy choice, I thought. My friends, let me tell you, it was not. A good writing environment is important for productivity, but I also argue that the right equipment is just as necessary. I’m much more concerned about the tactile nature of my notebooks than most probably would be. Not every story I write should use the same kind of notebook. I admit that this sounds absurd, ridiculous, and frivolous, but it happens almost every time I sit down to a new story, especially a novel. I debated over my notebook choice for a good twenty minutes until finally deciding on a Japanese one I picked up in Chicago a year ago at Kinokuniya. I grabbed my Sharpie pen (the one constant in my writing process) and sat down to write.

Problem 2: Starting. I couldn’t think of how to begin. I listened to my inspirational song for the novel three times before I did. It’s a long song so it was about fifteen minutes of lying on the floor, staring at the ceiling. Then I dived in.

Problem 3: What happens after the first 1100 words? I still don’t know. I jumped to the climax and wrote that scene and then jumped to the conclusion. That was the first time for me. I write from beginning to end. Always have, except for essays, which I write middle-end-beginning.

Problem 4: Now what??? I’ve got to go back to the middle and beginning bits. Ugh.

Problem 5: Not editing. You’re not supposed to edit yourself as you write, right? Yeah, well tell my brain that. I’ve managed to silence the critic for the most part, that is until I type up what I’ve written. I typed up three days worth tonight and yelled to no one in particular at least three times, “WHY DID YOU WRITE THAT?!?!” I don’t know. No one does or ever will.

NaNoWriMo words aren’t supposed to be good. No one ever said this was going to be easy. I’ve done it. It’s not. But ya know, I wish it was. Do any of you have NaNoWriMo woes to report?

Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

