NaNoWriMo Day 15

NaNoWriMoI’m back with some tips on how to survive NaNoWriMo. They are in no particular order whatsoever.

Tip 1: Find your writing fuel. Mine is coffee, dark chocolate, and Swedish Fish. It’s not healthy, and I don’t care. Writing until you pull your hair out isn’t healthy either probably.

Tip 2: Stop caring about the details. I don’t know how many times I write something and realize straight away that it contradicts a scene 5,000 words ago. Move on. Make a note of it, or not. I don’t because chances are I’ll find the same mistake later since it was so obvious I found it in my Swedish fish-induced haze. I don’t have time for any extra writing (except apparently this blog). Time is money as they say.

Tip 3: Let it all out. It doesn’t matter what is. If you write it, it’s supposed to be there for the time being. Today, I wrote something completely unexpected. That was not where I was going with that scene, but I went with it. If you find yourself saying, like I do, “Well, I guess that’s happening now,” then you’re on the right track for this month. Things happen, and it could end up being awesome in the long run.

Tip 4: Breathe.

Tip 5: Find someone to make you feel like a superhero. It makes all the difference in the world. I helped my aunt strip wallpaper you know and after, she told me about 15 times (not an exaggeration) that I was amazing. See, I like heights. She doesn’t. I sat and stood on a 12 foot ladder on her stairs to peel it off and saved her hundreds of dollars. I wrote sporadically on breaks while at her house on Friday and got 1,000 words done. I told her as a joke that I was going back to the hotel and writing another 2,000. I didn’t think I’d get even 400 since I was exhausted, but I ended up doing 1,400 more! I felt like a pretty spectacular niece this weekend, and it definitely transferred into my writing. I wrote 700 words in 45 minutes that night. Go be a superhero and reenergize your writing!

Tip 6: If someone tells you you’re not going to make it, smack him or her. That includes yourself.* I’ve got really red cheeks now.

*Do it at your own discretion. In fact, only do it to yourself. Throw up one of those talk-to-the-hand things to those other guys instead. Far less subject to retalliation.*

Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

