NaNoWriMo Day 19

NaNoWriMo (1)
Enter a caption

I’m actually halfway! That would be very encouraging if it hadn’t taken me 19 days to get there, and I only have 12 to finish the other 25,000. But I did make it. Here are some ups and downs of this week.

Down 1: I’m pretty sure I’ve developed some sort of carpel tunnel syndrome or tendinitis or whatever excuse I can give the pain in my wrist and forearm.

Up 1: I forced myself to write 3,000 words on Tuesday and Wednesday because I’m getting desperate (hence the pain). I even managed 3,400 yesterday!

Down 2: I’ve been out of my writing fuel for a week.

Up 2: I bought more Swedish Fish today!

Down 3: I’m not sure if I can get a full 50,000 words.

Up 3: ???

Anecdote: My characters are ridiculously emotional. I don’t know why. I’ve never written an emotional character, not like this anyway. These two cry about every other page, and I want to hit them. I should be hitting myself, obviously. I did write them. I’m blaming Harry Potter for their angst. Why? Because I was reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix when I started. If you’ve read it, you know he’s a sour puss, grumpy pants, what have you, for the majority of the book.  So while my, supposedly tough, manly, characters weep and mourn for a broken nail, I weep and mourn for my susceptibility to the literature I read. Or rather my failure at making them realistic.

Anecdote 2: I had to put to rest my first Sharpie of the month. It was a sad and morose affair, accompanied by lots of tears and mascara running. I held a reception to celebrate its 23,000-word life. After which, I put the Kleenex away and cracked open a new one.

Leave a Reply

