NaNoWriMo Day 25

NaNoWriMo (2)It’s been a week since I updated you guys, and I hardly have anything to show for it. Now, let me explain. Come Saturday, I was writing, and after ten minutes with my pen to paper, my hand started hurting. I mean it cramped up like crazy so when I’d set the pen down, it STILL hurt. I did manage to write about 2,400 words, but that was it. I took a break on Sunday and Monday. After all, I had to go to a playoff game for my beloved Columbus Crew SC. We won, by the way, 2-0. Yay! Anywho, I needed that break so that Tuesday I could write a whole 3,156! I’m trying to do the same today, only, well, my wrist is now hurting. Does health insurance cover NaNoWriMo injuries?

Lessons I’ve learned this week:

Lesson 1: If I take melatonin to help me sleep better, I have nightmares. HOWEVER, since I’ve had so many nightmares of ghosts taking over my body, I’m pretty sure that means I should write a story about it. What do you think?

Lesson 2: Not all my dreams are story-worthy, especially since they don’t obey the laws of chemistry. You can’t really set yourself on fire by dousing yourself with beer and lighting a match.

Lesson 3: It might be a sign that you hate one of your characters in your NaNoWriMo novel if you dream about dropping a ferociously biting mouse on her, and then seeing that there were two already biting her shoulder.

Lesson 4: Your subconscious is much more creative than your wakeful mind. How else would you end up searching for your missing purse, then find all its contents safe and sound but the purse still gone, and then get invited to dinner with a K-pop group (B.A.P.) and watch one of them play hacky sack, all in one dream.

Lesson 5: With six days left, I really wish I hadn’t slacked off that first week because now my wrist hurts way too much and the side of my hand is extremely sensitive to the touch.

Anecdote: Smarty Pants has another friend doing NaNoWriMo. She’s already over 40,000. Which he reminds me of. Constantly. Every day: “Erin already passed the 40,000 mark. Where are you? Why aren’t you writing more? You need to do better.” What do I say to that? “Phooey on you. Why don’t you just go be friends with Erin, then??”

With more than 10,000 words left and having to go out of town for two days for Thanksgiving, who thinks I’ll finish? I wouldn’t take that bet if I were you.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! May your wrists stop hurting and your bellies be full of turkey (but not too much because then you’d sleep without writing)!

Leave a Reply

