One Week On

It’s been a week since NaNoWriMo ended, and I haven’t written a single word. Glitch isn’t finished. It can’t even be considered a very rough first draft. Perhaps I’m a bit picky not wanting to have plot holes that scream at you before you even crack open the book, but it is what it is. I haven’t written any more because I kind of wanted to chuck it across the room when I finished those 12,000+ words in two days. But I have to hand it to the nightmare that is NaNoWriMo and Glitch, it made me want to work on CAOHC, my first YA novel.

CAOHC has a first draft and about 7,000 words of a second one. Here’s how long It’s been since I’ve worked on it. The last date I have is 22 July 2013. For those of you not quick at math, that’s a whole (almost) 29 months. It’s been sitting in my box of WIPs (works-in-progress) for over two years. I stink. I know. If Fianna could, she’d jump out of the page and berate me for my lack of attention to her and her plight. Even though it’s 29 months too late, I’m working on it again. And by working, I mean reading through what I have already and refreshing my memory on the plot points from my “outline.” The question is: will I actually manage to write anything? Let’s all say yes so I feel less like a loser.

That’s the update on my past week. Nothing too interesting on this end. For those of you still working on their NaNoWriMo project, good luck! For those of you who chucked it across the room like me, I hope you picked up something else to work on. And if you’re neither of these people, thanks for stopping by and reading nothing of consequence!

2 thoughts on “One Week On

  1. I wanted to chuck mine across the room. I didn’t win NaNo this year, and I went 13 days without editing my document. Today I read a couple pages, and realized it really wasn’t completely terrible. Mostly, yes. But it was workable. So I started working on it again. I just want to hit THE END. Then maybe I can chuck it lol

    1. You’re brave. I haven’t had the courage to read what I wrote. Maybe in January or February! It’s hard to win NaNo. I vote that it should be in January seeing as how there are 31 days and the only holiday is January 1st so you have plenty of time to make up for not writing!

Leave a Reply

