The Written Struggle

William Wordsworth once said, “Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.” That’s an admirable thing to say and very similar to that old adage “Write what you want to read.” As I sit here working on a new story I started last week, my fingers hover over the keyboard only clicking on a key every five or so minutes. I wonder why I can’t fill my pages with the breathings of my heart. Last week, this story was one of them. I wanted to write it. I wrote 500 words in an hour, which is pretty good for me considering it’s not NaNoWriMo. Every day since then, however, has been a struggle. I’ve only written 300 words in the past week, and now I no longer like the story. Now, it’s a fight with myself to sit down and work. Now, I want to stop and shelve it. Now, I want to give up.

There’s the rub, kids. If you’ve been following my blog at all, you’ll know that I have trouble finishing all of my stories. I have several first drafts of novels, but no completed second drafts. I will never finish something if I shelve it when it becomes difficult, but what are you supposed to do when the thought of working on it gives you a headache? I’m sure I could come up with a new story idea, but how long will I last before I put that one away? A week? A month?

I guess I’ll fester in my bitterness a little longer.

I hope your writing progresses better than mine.

Sincerely,

Your Disgruntled Writer (HA.) Friend.

2 thoughts on “The Written Struggle

  1. Don’t give up — your writing side wouldn’t let you for long, anyway. It may feel overwhelming, but kep pushing on. Perseverence is truly rewarding. And if a story doesn’t sing to you anymore, then move on to another one. The right one for you will always sing for you (: Good luck.

Leave a Reply

