Dissonance Soundtrack: Track 1

I’ve seen many authors talk about creating a soundtrack or playlist for their novels. I remember one even put the list in the back of her book for readers. At that time, I had been assembling my own soundtrack of sorts for CAOHC. Sometimes a song depicts a scene in your novel perfectly, and sometimes it’s an emotion, or a character’s personality. Whatever it may be, I do believe that music can help deepen your own understanding of your novel. This works especially well if you’re more of an auditory learner, or a good old music lover.

I’ve decided to assemble a soundtrack for Dissonance in the hopes that it’ll inspire me to finish the last 2/3 of the novel. I’ll be sharing it with you so you can get a better idea of the tone. Don’t forget to click here to read Dissonance‘s blurb!

This first song is Florence and the Machine’s “Never Let Me Go.” My main character, Ivy, goes through the most traumatic event of her life within the first few chapters. In the aftermath, she struggles to find her footing again, if at all. This is how she feels, the beginning of the end.

Leave a Reply

