NaNoWriMo 2016 Day 7

free-1I know. I see the numbers, too. I’m going to be honest with you; it doesn’t look good for me. I’m worse off than I was last year, and certainly the year before. I wrote a novel and a short story that year, such an overachiever. There’s a good chance my brother was right about me not finishing, but in hopes of winning anyway, I’m typing my novel instead of handwriting per his suggestion. He said, in his rather sarcastic voice, “Type it. That way you’re not writing two novels.” Fair enough. So, with that being said, I ended up not having my computer or a means of typing for two days and ended up doing it by hand!

Here’s how the first week of NaNo went for me.

NaNoWriMo Week 1 Reckoning

Day 1: Packing

Day 2: Packing

Day 3: Client project + writing hurriedly while paper printed (473 words)

Day 4: Chicago Cubs parade

Day 5: Writing (400 words) + driving to Nashville

Day 6: Writing (2128 words)

Day 7: Painting + setting up gazebo + ?

The day isn’t over yet, so I imagine I’ll write after this. Remind me again why NaNo is in November? It’s Thanksgiving time. I have a friend visiting next weekend so those three days are shot. Then there’s the holiday. NaNoWriMo’s website says I won’t finish until February 27th, 2017 at this rate. That’s not as bad as earlier this week when it said August 16th!

I titled my work “As the Leaves Fall.” Big question. What do you think the book is about? I don’t like the title as I don’t think it fits with my theme at all. Leave your opinion in the comments!

Happy writing and may you not be as busy as me!

Leave a Reply

