NaNoWriMo 2016 Day 10

free-2The last three days have not been as productive as I’d have liked. Compared to last year, I’m about 1,800 words behind. If you don’t remember, I had to scramble and write 12,000 words in two days. I did, but it was awful. So awful, I was pretty sure my brain died a little. If I don’t step it up a notch, this year will be even worse. Here’s my reckoning for the past four days.

NaNoWriMo Days 7-10

Day 7: 751 words

Day 8: Driving from Nashville to Columbus + voting + writing (303)

Day 9: Trying not to lose it with all of the hate after the election + writing (1,316)

Day 10: Actually losing it and deactivating Facebook + writing (1,250 and counting)

I’m hoping that the rest of the day goes better, and I can get out at least 2,000 words. I keep getting chastised by NaNo’s website. It says I have to write 2,066 words a day to finish. I can hardly write 1,000, so I don’t know how 2,000 is going to happen. Here’s what I discovered my problem is—I’m thinking too much. I haven’t gotten to the point where I can simply word vomit whatever I want. I try to make pleasing sounding sentences, and work on not using cliches, although those are still running rampant. I had this problem last year, too.

I learned a lesson this week, as well: Stop trying to boost people’s spirits when they clearly would rather wallow in self-pity. I have been trying for months to get people to stop being so negative, and think about all of the really great things they have going on in their lives. It’s not working. I would never presume to tell people they can’t be mad. My only goal is to show that kindness goes a long, long way to seeing change and happiness. With that in mind, my Facebook posts have only been jokes, amusing anecdotes, or words of encouragement, to combat the negativity. This has, however, taken its toll on me because it seems hopeless. In an attempt to regain my own peace and balance in life, I’ve called it quits on social media for a while. I actually had a friend lament the fact that I was leaving because I was the only happy thing on her newsfeed. I guess that means I was making some progress?

Sorry, didn’t mean to get all political and serious! How’s you’re writing going? Anyone want to write the rest for me? Pretty please with cherries on top??

Leave a Reply

