NaNoWriMo 2016 Day 21

free-4There are moments in our lives where we have to face the facts. The writing is on the wall. There’s no denying it. This is one of those moments for me. I hate to say it (if you have a sibling, you know what I mean), but my brother was right. I cannot finish NaNoWriMo this year, and I know that in the bottom (way, way down in there) of your deep, caring hearts, you’re shedding a tear for me. I tried to convince myself it was still possible, but the writing was definitely on the wall in neon lights and flashing in seizure-inducing fashion. With 10 days left, I haven’t even broken 10,000. *insert longest, saddest, most morose sigh you can imagine here*

Lessons Learned

Lesson 1: I shouldn’t attempt to write 50,000 words in a month in which I’m traveling multiple times between states, having a friend visit, and eating vast amount of food with family for a holiday.

Lesson 2: 83.69214% of YA novels feature a girl who just cannot get over how incredibly gorgeous the mysterious boy is and OHMIGOSH DID YOU SEE HIS LIPS?! Therefore, I shall write a heroine who is completely the opposite—knows exactly what she wants and isn’t afraid to say it, while still being classy and polite.

Lesson 3: Choosing to steep my story in the Korean shamanism culture of yore, should only be done when not writing 50,000 words in one month, especially when wimg_20161118_1333055e haven’t learned Lesson 1 yet.

Lesson 4: I turn off the inner-critic when writing on my phone.

Lesson 5: I get a lot of inspiration from photos taken with the “inverse” function on my phone, aka. negatives. Here’s one for your pleasure.

Lesson 6: I take immense pleasure in turning my guest bedroom into a B&B, replete with chocolate mints on the pillow, a welcome note, and color-coordinated toiletries.

My friend visited this past weekend and gave me my birthday present while here. It included an HP coloring book, colored pencils, and a writer’s emergency kit (ideas, characters etc)! She and I also saw Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I’m not saying that was why she visited in the first place…

I hope my new goal of 20,000 words is doable. I shall try as best I can. I’m even hoping they’ll be decent words since I’m not shoveling out 1667 a day. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

